Tuition and Fees

Tuition

Tuition is based upon the number of semester credit hours for which students register and is determined by the student’s classification as a Texas resident or non-Texas resident. Determination of legal residence for tuition purposes is determined by the statutes of the State of Texas via the Office of Admissions. The current rate is $141.90 per semester credit hour for Texas residents and $563.90 per semester credit hour for non-Texas residents.

Residency Status

A student’s state of residency is determined prior to his or her first enrollment in accordance with rules and regulations established by the Texas State Legislature and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. Texas law specifies that if there is any question of the student’s right to classification as a Texas resident, it is the student’s responsibility to 1) have his or her classification officially determined and 2) to register under the proper classification.

It is also the student’s responsibility to notify the institution if his or her residency classification changes. Classification will follow the guidelines in the Texas Education Code, Title 3. Detailed information on residency is available in the Admissions Office and the Office of Student Services.

Tuition for Students with Excessive Credit Hours

In accordance with Senate Bill 345, any student who has attempted 45 or more non-remedial, academic semester credit hours beyond the minimum number of semester credit hours required for completion of a baccalaureate degree program may be subject to non-resident tuition rates at a public four-year or health-related institution in Texas.

These provisions affect students who initially enrolled as undergraduate students in any public institution of higher education after the fall 1999 semester. Additional information may be found on the Lamar Institute of Technology website, under Tuition and Fees.

Louisiana Resident Exemptions

Residents of Louisiana who enroll in at Lamar Institute of Technology are eligible to pay in-state tuition.

Payment of Fees

A student is not registered until all fees are paid in full or the student has made the equivalent of a down payment on the installment plan (if available). Payment may be made in person at the Lamar Institute of Technology Cashier's Office or online. Students may log on to BANNER Self Service to make electronic payments through the TouchNet system. Payment may be made by check, Master Card/Visa/Discover/AMEX, money order or currency.

Checks and money orders should be made payable to Lamar Institute of Technology, and will be accepted subject to final payment. The Institute will not accept counter checks, postdated checks, credit card checks or altered checks. Excess payments will be refunded via direct deposit. Students on a cash-only basis will be restricted to paying by Master Card/Visa/Discover/AMEX, money order, cashier’s checks, traveler’s checks or currency.

Payment Amounts

Payment in Full: Students who have paid all their tuition and fees for the semester will be registered for classes. More than 50% of tuition and fees paid: Students who pay more than 50% but less than 100% of their tuition and fees for a semester will be placed on the Installment Payment Plan and will incur a $25 installment fee. Less than 50% of tuition and fees paid: Students who pay less than 50% of their tuition and fees for a semester will be dropped from all classes.

Summary of Registration Expenses

Each student must plan a budget carefully. It is possible to attend the Institute on a modest sum and participate in most of the Institute’s programs. To assist in planning registration expenses, the following estimates are a guide:

Texas resident enrolled in fifteen (15) Semester Credit Hours (Fall and Spring Semesters)*

Tuition $2,128.50
Student Services Fee $250
Health Center Fee $38
Student Center Fee $30
Recreation Center Sports Fee $77
Property Deposit $10
Student Identification $5
Tech Services Charge $300
Library Fee $60
Records Fee $10
Parking Fee (if parking) $60
Books (estimated) $400
  $3,368.50

Texas resident enrolled in six Semester Credit Hours (Fall and Spring Semesters)*

Tuition $851.40
Student Services Fee $142.50
Health Center Fee $38
Student Center Fee $120
Recreation Center Sports Fee $77
Property Deposit $10
Student Identification $5
Tech Services Charge $120
Library Fee $36
Records Fee $10
Parking Fee (if desired) $60
Books (estimated) $200
  $1,669.90

Tuition and fees vary by semester credit hours taken, so the total may differ from the estimate.

*Tuition rate per semester credit hour is $141.90 for Texas residents and $563.90 per semester credit hour for non-Texas residents.

Tuition, Fall 2019/Spring 2020

SCH Texas Resident Tuition Non-Texas Resident Tuition  Student Services Fee Student Center Fee Rec Center Fee Tech Service Fee Health Center Fee Library Use Fee Records
Fee
Total Texas Resident Total Non-Texas Resident
1 $141.90 $563.90 $23.75 $30.00 $77.00 $20.00 $38.00 $6.00 $10.00 $346.65 $768.65
2 $283.80 $1,127.80 $47.50 $30.00 $77.00 $40.00 $38.00 $12.00 $10.00 $538.30 $1,382.30
3 $425.70 $1,691.70 $71.25 $30.00 $77.00 $60.00 $38.00 $18.00 $10.00 $729.95 $1,995.95
4 $567.60 $2,255.60 $95.00 $30.00 $77.00 $80.00 $38.00 $24.00 $10.00 $921.60 $2,609.60
5 $709.50 $2,819.50 $118.75 $30.00 $77.00 $100.00 $38.00 $30.00 $10.00 $1,113.25 $3,223.25
6 $851.40 $3,383.40 $142.50 $30.00 $77.00 $120.00 $38.00 $36.00 $10.00 $1,304.90 $3,836.90
7 $993.30 $3,947.30 $166.25 $30.00 $77.00 $140.00 $38.00 $42.00 $10.00 $1,496.55 $4,450.55
8 $1,135.20 $4,511.20 $190.00 $30.00 $77.00 $160.00 $38.00 $48.00 $10.00 $1,688.20 $5,064.20
9 $1,277.10 $5,075.10 $213.75 $30.00 $77.00 $180.00 $38.00 $54.00 $10.00 $1,879.85 $5,677.85
10 $1,419.00 $5,639.00 $237.50 $30.00 $77.00 $200.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $2,071.50 $6,291.50
11 $1,560.90 $6,202.90 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $220.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $2,245.90 $6,887.90
12 $1,702.80 $6,766.80 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $240.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $2,407.80 $7,471.80
13 $1,844.70 $7,330.70 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $260.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $2,569.70 $8,055.70
14 $1,986.60 $7,894.60 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $280.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $2,731.60 $8,639.60
15 $2,128.50 $8,458.50 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $300.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $2,893.50 $9,223.50
16 $2,270.40 $9,022.40 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $320.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $3,055.40 $9,807.40
17 $2,412.30 $9,586.30 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $340.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $3,217.30 $10,391.30
18 $2,554.20 $10,150.20 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $360.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $3,379.20 $10,975.20
19 $2,696.10 $10,714.10 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $380.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $3,541.10 $11,559.10
20 $2,838.00 $11,278.00 $250.00 $30.00 $77.00 $400.00 $38.00 $60.00 $10.00 $3,703.00 $12,143.00

Parking: $60/Fall, $40/Spring. ID: $5. Property Deposit is a one-time fee of $10; other lab and materials fees may apply. Note: Fees are subject to change by action of the Board of Regents or the Texas State Legislature. 

Tuition, Summer I, II, and III Semesters, 2019

SCH Texas Resident Tuition Non-Texas Resident Tuition Student Services Fee Student Center Fee Rec Center Fee Tech Service Fee Health Center Fee Library Use Fee Total Texas Resident Total Non- Texas Resident
1 $139.72 $554.72 $23.75 $15.00 $38.00 $20.00 $19.00 $6.00 $261.47 $676.47
2 $279.44 $1,109.44 $47.50 $15.00 $38.00 $40.00 $19.00 $12.00 $450.94 $1,280.94
3 $419.16 $1,664.16 $71.25 $15.00 $38.00 $60.00 $19.00 $18.00 $640.41 $1,885.41
4 $558.88 $2,218.88 $95.00 $15.00 $38.00 $80.00 $19.00 $24.00 $829.88 $2,489.88
5 $698.60 $2,773.60 $118.75 $15.00 $38.00 $100.00 $19.00 $30.00 $1,019.35 $3,094.35
6 $838.32 $3,328.32 $142.50 $15.00 $38.00 $120.00 $19.00 $36.00 $1,208.82 $3,698.82
7 $978.04 $3,883.04 $166.25 $15.00 $38.00 $140.00 $19.00 $42.00 $1,398.29 $4,303.29
8 $1,117.76 $4,437.76 $190.00 $15.00 $38.00 $160.00 $19.00 $48.00 $1,587.76 $4,907.76
9 $1,257.48 $4,992.48 $213.75 $15.00 $38.00 $180.00 $19.00 $54.00 $1,777.23 $5,512.23
10 $1,387.20 $5,547.20 $237.50 $15.00 $38.00 $200.00 $19.00 $60.00 $1,956.70 $6,116.70

Parking: $20. ID: $5. Property Deposit is a one-time fee of $10. Other lab and materials fees may apply. Note: Fees are subject to change by action of the Board of Regents or the Texas State 28 Tuition & Fees Legislature.

Tuition, Winter Mini-Session 2018/May Mini-Session 2019

SCH Texas Resident Tuition Non- Texas Resident Tuition Student Services Fee Student Center Fee Rec Center Fee Tech Service Fee Health Center Fee Library Use Fee Total Texas Resident Total Non- Texas Resident
1 $139.72 $554.72 $23.75 $15.00 $0.00 $20.00 $19.00 $6.00 $223.47 $638.47
2 $279.44 $1,109.44 $47.50 $15.00 $0.00 $40.00 $19.00 $12.00 $412.94 $1,242.94
3 $419.16 $1,664.16 $71.25 $15.00 $0.00 $60.00 $19.00 $18.00 $602.41 $1,847.41
4 $558.88 $2,218.88 $95.00 $15.00 $0.00 $80.00 $19.00 $24.00 $791.88 $2,451.88
5 $698.60 $2,773.60 $118.75 $15.00 $0.00 $100.00 $19.00 $30.00 $981.35 $3,056.35
6 $838.32 $3,328.32 $142.50 $15.00 $0.00 $120.00 $19.00 $36.00 $1,170.82 $3,660.82

Course Repeat

The Texas Administrative Code, Rule 13.105 allows institutions to charge a higher tuition rate to a student who 1) repeats a course more than twice or 2) enrolls for a second time in a completed course. Effective January 1, 2011, Lamar Institute of Technology will charge students a higher tuition for repeated courses that may not be submitted for formula funding. The tuition rate will be equal to three times the resident undergraduate rate.

A student is exempted from payment of higher tuition for any course repeated in the final semester or term before graduation, if the course(s) is taken for the purpose of receiving a grade that will satisfy a degree requirement. This exemption applies for only one semester.

A student is exempted from the payment of the higher tuition rate if the payment of the higher tuition rate will result in an economic hardship. An economic hardship may be demonstrated if the student has been approved to receive financial aid.

The following types of hours are exempt and not subject to a higher tuition rate under the Repeated Course Policy:

  1. Hours for remedial and developmental courses;
  2. Hours for special topics courses;
  3. Hours from remedial and developmental courses, workforce education courses or other courses that would not generate academic credit that could be applied to a degree at the institution if the course work is within the 27-hour limit at two-year colleges;
  4. Hours for courses that involve different or more advanced content each time they are taken, including but not limited to, workforce education courses and manual special topics courses; and
  5. Hours for continuing education courses that must be repeated to retain professional certification. The following schedule of fees is applicable to all students, including those in an audit status:
Residency Cost of Instruction per Semester Credit Hour
Texas Resident $141.90
Non-Texas Resident $563.90