Latest News at Lamar Institute of Technology

LIT Instructor named Texas “Educator of the Year” for 2019


attachment image- LIT Instructor named Texas “Educator of the Year” for 2019

Beaumont – Lamar Institute of Technology Radiologic Program Director Brenda Barrow was recently named the Sharon Coffey Educator of the Year by the Texas Society of Radiologic Technologists (TSRT). She was chosen from among about 825 active members of TSRT.
The announcement brought tears to the eyes of both Barrow and the presenter: former TSRT President and now Board Chair Brandon Smith, a 2013 LIT Radiology program graduate.

Barrow said, “I had no idea about winning the award until he (Smith) said he did not nominate the winner but was very happy to see my name. He said I helped form him into the technologist he is today.”
Smith said Barrow “was the only recipient to be nominated more than once. In fact, I believe she’s been nominated at least five previous times.”

The Sharon Coffey Educator of the Year Award is presented annually to an educator in one of the many imaging fields related to Radiologic Technology. It is based upon the recipient’s experience, commitment to education and contributions to the radiology profession within the state of Texas, according to Smith.
The award was established in 2009, a year after the death of the highly acclaimed Sharon Coffey, who was a clinical instructor for Houston Community College for over 27 years and was twice recognized as the Outstanding Instructor of the Year.

A nomination committee vets the nominees, which vary yearly from about five to 10 candidates, Smith said. Barrow is in good company of award winners who have hailed from all over Texas, including the Dallas-Fort Worth area, Austin, Houston, Conroe and Brenham.
TSRT encompasses all Diagnostic Imaging manifestations: i.e., Education, Diagnostic, CT, MRI, Radiation Therapy, Sonography and Nuclear Medicine.